July 2010
-pdf version

NARC Annual Meeting

At the annual meeting of the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) held in June, 2010, in Cleveland the Ohio Association of Regional Councils (OARC) was the recipient of the 2010 Ray Award. The Ohio Association of Regional Councils is comprised of regional agencies like TMACOG that represent more than 10.5 million residents across Ohio. OARC’s mission is to coordinate voices at a state and federal level; to strengthen the role and authority of regional councils: and to collaborate, coordinate and solve problems in the areas of transportation, environment and land use planning within the framework of state policy.

This award recognizes state or multi-state associations that provide comprehensive and unique services and programs to its members; has a high percentage of councils as members; contributes to regionalism at the local, state, and national level; and contributes to NARC. TMACOG is a participating member of OARC and has staff in leadership roles in the Association; Warren Henry, chair of the OARC Transportation Committee, and Peggy Ricard, co-chair of the OARC Communications Committee. TMACOG’s president Tony Reams is a past president of OARC and is immediate past chair of the Executive Directors Council of NARC. He is currently serving his fourth year as a member of the Board of Directors of NARC.

Kurt Erichsen, vice-president of Environment and Matt Horvat, Maumee River Watershed Coordinator presented the Sustainable Water and Water Quality: The Swan Creek Experience session. This session featured the Swan Creek watershed as one of three Ohio watersheds to participate in an incentive-driven test for balanced regional planning.

OARC members accepting Ray Leadership Award at NARC Conference.

Sustainable Water and Water Quality: The Swan Creek Experience session:
Moderator, Ken Fallows, Presenters, Kurt Erichsen and Matt Horvat

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2010 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments