Table of Contents


TMACOG Website
Map Gallery
TMACOG's Kurt Erichsen Award
More on
Swan Creek
Plan Approved
Oregon Grant
Speakers for the
Ohio Conference
on Freight
TIP Amendment

TMACOG’s Erichsen Recipient of NARC Award

At the annual meeting of the National Association of Regional Councils held in June, Kurt Erichsen, TMACOG’s vice president of environmental planning, was the recipient of the 2009 John Bosley Award. The award recognizes Erichsen for outstanding service and contributions to advance the success of the regional community. Criteria for the award included demonstrated stature among peers and staff, contributions to the region and the community, and the extent to which his time and dedication has provided benefit to the regional community.

In the application for the John Bosley Award, Kenneth Fallows, former TMACOG chair, chair of TMACOG’s Environmental Council, and member of the U.S. EPA Local Government Advisory Committee, described benefits from Erichsen’s time and dedication. “I can testify to the region-wide respect for – and the need for – Kurt’s expertise. His historical knowledge of the issues in this region is an essential tool that elected officials and others throughout the region rely on.” Others who contributed to the application include Lucas County Engineer Keith Earley, PE, PS; C. Michael Smith, PE and president of The Mannik & Smith Group, Inc.; Marge Brown, former TMACOG chair and mayor of the City of Oregon; and Thomas M. Brown, Ph.D., a former chair of TMACOG and former mayor of Port Clinton, who represents the Northwest Ohio Mayors and Managers Association.

TMACOG leaders were pleased to nominate Erichsen and gratified to see his work honored with the award. TMACOG Chair and Lucas County Commissioner Tina Skeldon Wozniak said, "Kurt Erichsen has been a steadfast champion of our precious water resources and an advocate for sustainable practices, long before they were popular. I can think of no one more deserving of this prestigious honor than him." TMACOG President Tony Reams added, “TMACOG members are well-served by Kurt’s expertise and dedication. He has certainly earned this recognition.”

From left, President Tony Reams; Director of Communications Peggy Ricard; Erichsen; Chair of Environmental Council Kenneth Fallows; Vice President Transportation Warren Henry.